CSA Publishes NAFS Version Equivalency Document

CSA publishes NAFS version equivalency document

September 10, 2014

The Joint Document Management Group (JDMG) representing AAMA, WDMA and CSA, the Sponsors of the North American Fenestration Standard (NAFS) has issued bulletin 14-01 on the Equivalency of NAFS versions. CSA has published this bulletin for Canada at https://community.csagroup.org/docs/DOC-16208?et=watches.email.document.

The JDMG has conducted a side-by-side comparison of the testing and specification differences between the 2005, 2008 and 2011 editions of the North American Fenestration Standard (NAFS-05, NAFS-08 and NAFS-11). They have produced this bulletin primarily for the benefit of industry and building officials in the U.S. where current building codes reference the NAFS-11 standard.

This document also has relevance for Canada as some test labs are currently issuing both NAFS-08 and NAFS-11 test reports, even though the 2010 NBC and the 2012 BCBC refer only to NAFS-08. The soon to be released 2015 National Building Code will refer to NAFS-11 only. Download this bulletin

  • FenCan 2019 Spring Conference
  • The Fenestration Canada Installer Certification Program